ZoomInfo vs Crunchbase compares two different kinds of tools. Crunchbase is a company and funding database: you search 6M+ private companies, their funding rounds and its predictions, from 49 USD a month billed annually. ZoomInfo is a contact database with company and intent data, sold on custom-quoted annual contracts, built to give you the person and their phone number.
So the real question is whether you need to know which companies to call, who to call there, or both.
Below, both tools get the same 11 fields, in the same order, from their own pricing pages, help centers and product pages on 27 and 28 September 2026. Neither was in our own benchmark.
Why ZoomInfo vs Crunchbase is a different kind of comparison
Crunchbase and ZoomInfo answer different prospecting questions: Crunchbase tells you which companies to go after, and ZoomInfo tells you who to reach there and how.
- Crunchbase says you can “Search 6M+ private companies with full results”. Paid customers can search funding rounds by funding type, money raised, announced date, the funded company’s industry and location, and investors. It also sells predictions for funding, growth, acquisitions, IPOs, layoffs and closures.
- ZoomInfo says it is built on “500M+ verified professional profiles” and 122M+ company records, and claims 135M+ direct dial numbers and intent across 4,500+ topics. You search for people and export their records with emails and phone numbers.
- The overlap is narrower than it looks. ZoomInfo lists a funding dataset (“Venture rounds, PE investments, and debt financing events”). Crunchbase sells contact data to Business customers as an add-on. Neither overlap is the other tool’s core product.

ZoomInfo vs Crunchbase at a glance
ZoomInfo is a quote-only contact and intent platform; Crunchbase is a self-serve company and funding database with a contact add-on. Here are the same 11 fields for each.
| Field | ZoomInfo | Crunchbase |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Enterprise B2B data platform: contacts, companies, intent | Private-company and funding database with predictions, limited add-on contact data |
| Best for | Teams that need the people: emails, direct dials, mobiles, org charts | Teams that prospect by funding, growth and M&A signals and need company data |
| Entry price | Paid plans not published. ZoomInfo Lite: 0 USD, 10 credits a month | 49 USD a month billed annually (Pro, first-year offer), 99 USD billed monthly. A free version |
| Pricing model | Custom quote, seat minimums, credits | Plans with export row caps; per-user basis not stated; Business from 199 USD a month |
| Contracts | Annual, most “billed annually upfront” | Pro monthly or annual (annual paid upfront), both auto-renew; Business billed annually |
| Email data | 1 credit per exported record; claims 300M+ verified emails | Business add-on: 10 contacts a month, then packages from 29 USD for 100 contacts |
| Mobile numbers and cost | Paid plans, inside the exported record; price per number not published | “Phone numbers” in contact data; mobile or direct dial not specified; price not published |
| Charged on a miss | Not published | Not published |
| Integrations | Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics, Zoho, SugarCRM, Pipedrive, API, MCP | Salesforce, HubSpot, Monday Sales, Zapier, Outreach, Chrome extension, API, MCP (add-on) |
| Compliance | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, 27017 and 27701, TRUSTe GDPR and CCPA | SOC 2 Type II; contact data “monitored for compliance” with CCPA and GDPR |
| Where it falls short | No public price, credits expire, each user pays for the same export | Exports capped (2k rows a month on Pro), 49 USD is a first-year price, limited contact data |

For ZoomInfo on its own, read our ZoomInfo review.
How are ZoomInfo and Crunchbase different?
Beyond companies against people, ZoomInfo and Crunchbase differ in how you buy them, what contact data comes with them and what you can take out. These five differences decide which one earns a place in your stack.
- A price list against a quote. Crunchbase publishes Pro at 99 USD a month billed monthly, or 49 USD a month billed annually in the first year, shown against a struck-through 79 USD. ZoomInfo says paid plans “are not published at a fixed price.”
- Contact data as the product or as an add-on. ZoomInfo’s paid plans unlock “direct dials, mobile numbers, org chart data”. Crunchbase’s Knowledge Center gives Business customers 10 contacts a month, then packages of 100, 250 or 500 contacts that “do not stack and do not accrue month-to-month.”
- Which signals you get. Crunchbase sells predictions and claims “84% of real-world funding rounds predicted”. ZoomInfo sells intent across 4,500+ topics, website visitor data (WebSights) and nine signal datasets, including funding and M&A.
- What you can take out. Crunchbase caps exports at 2k rows a month on Pro and 5K on Business. ZoomInfo charges a credit per exported record, per user, and its monthly credits do not roll over.
- API access. Both price it through sales. Crunchbase’s Custom Data Access covers its API and an MCP server for AI tools. ZoomInfo’s API uses “1 bulk data credit per new contact record,” bought in bulk each year.
ZoomInfo vs Crunchbase pricing
Crunchbase publishes its entry prices and ZoomInfo does not. Here is everything each publishes, plus one third-party figure for ZoomInfo.
Crunchbase pricing
| Crunchbase plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free version | 0 USD | 0 USD | Company profiles “at no cost” |
| Pro | 99 USD a month | 49 USD a month, first year (79 USD struck through) | Search 6M+ private companies, export up to 2k rows a month, saved searches, lists, alerts |
| Business | Not published | From 199 USD a month | 5K export rows a month, AI agent, Predictions and Insights, CRM integrations |
| Custom Data Access | Not published | Not published | API and MCP server |
| Contact packages (Business) | 29 USD for 100, 59 USD for 250, 99 USD for 500 contacts | Not published | 10 contacts a month included |
Pro comes with a 7-day trial and is paid by card, PayPal, Google Pay or Apple Pay: “we don’t offer a way to pay by invoice”.
A contact package works out to 0.20 to 0.29 USD per contact if you use all of it, since unused contacts expire each month. The contact packages come from Knowledge Center articles last updated about a year ago; the current pricing page does not list them.
ZoomInfo pricing
- ZoomInfo Lite: 0 USD, 10 credits a month (25 with Community Edition), no credit card and no contract. A reveal shows a business email and a direct or office phone.
- Paid plans: quoted and annual, with a minimum number of seats. ZoomInfo names the quote drivers as team size, credit volume, features such as intent and WebSights, integrations and API access, and contract length.
- Third-party data: Vendr, a software buying marketplace, reports a median ZoomInfo contract of 33,500 USD a year across 1,573 purchases, from 7,213 to 155,820 USD.
At that median, one exported record costs 6.70 USD if you export 5,000 a year and 0.67 USD at 50,000. Our ZoomInfo pricing breakdown covers the credit types.
What one year costs at entry level
A year of Crunchbase Pro costs 588 to 1,188 USD at list price. The median ZoomInfo contract, per Vendr, costs 33,500 USD a year, but it covers a team and contact data, not one company search plan.

When to use ZoomInfo and Crunchbase together
Use both when a funding round is your buying signal: Crunchbase finds the companies that just raised, and a contact tool finds the person to call there. Here is the workflow with a fictional example.
- Find the rounds. In Crunchbase, search Series A rounds announced in the last 30 days by US software companies. One result is Larkspur Analytics, a Denver company that raised 14 million USD.
- Qualify the account. Check the industry, headcount and what the round will pay for. A payroll software seller wants companies about to hire.
- Find the buyer. At Larkspur, that is the Head of People or the COO. Look the person up in ZoomInfo and export the record with email and mobile.
- Reach out while it is fresh. Call and email within the first weeks, and log the round as the reason for the call.

If you already pay for ZoomInfo, check its funding dataset first (it lists 9 fields); you may not need a second tool for basic round alerts.
Crunchbase goes further on the round itself: paid customers can search rounds by lead investor, pre- and post-money valuation and total funding raised. Our guide to finding companies that just raised funding covers the free sources too, such as SEC Form D filings.
Which has better data, ZoomInfo or Crunchbase?
They measure different things, and neither was in our benchmark, so this rests on vendor claims.
- Crunchbase claims “39B live private market signals” and “30M+ verified updates per year”, with contact data “refreshed monthly”.
- ZoomInfo claims “87% Mobile Number Accuracy” and “135M+ Direct Dial Numbers”, verified by machine learning, partners and “300+ human researchers.”
A third option: Scalelist for the contact step
If Crunchbase already gives you the companies, the second step only needs people with verified emails and mobile numbers. Scalelist, an AI Lead Finder, does that step. It does not sell funding data.
- How it fits: Scalelist does not know who raised last week; your Crunchbase export does. Give the company names and the buyer’s title to the Scalelist MCP server in Claude to get the people, or upload names and domains you already have to the Mobile Finder.
- How you pay: 1 credit per lead or email found, 20 per mobile found, and nothing when nothing is found. For 40 funded companies with 2 contacts each, the worst case is 1,760 credits, which fits the 2,000-credit plan at 89 USD a month (Scalelist plans and credits).
- Measured: in our own benchmark, Scalelist found an email for 92% of the North America list and a phone number for 87%.
- Where it is not the better buy: there is no funding data, intent data or org chart, and HubSpot is the only native CRM. Scalelist operates under the GDPR and Singapore’s PDPA with a DPA and SCCs, and does not publish an audited certification like the ones ZoomInfo and Crunchbase list.
The ZoomInfo matchup is in Scalelist vs ZoomInfo.
Turn this month’s funded companies into people with verified emails and mobiles, and pay only for what is found.
Find your first 20 contactsHow to choose between ZoomInfo and Crunchbase
Crunchbase or ZoomInfo depends on what is missing from your prospecting today: the right companies, the right people, or both.

- Name your trigger. If you sell to companies after a round, an acquisition or a growth spurt, start with Crunchbase.
- Count the contacts you need. A few hundred a month fits Crunchbase’s contact packages or a pay-per-result tool. Thousands a month across a team points to ZoomInfo.
- Check what you already own. ZoomInfo customers can try its funding dataset before buying Crunchbase.
- Test before a year. Crunchbase Pro has a 7-day trial and ZoomInfo Lite gives 10 credits a month; use both on accounts you know.
If you are weighing ZoomInfo against other contact tools, compare ZoomInfo competitors, or read ZoomInfo vs Apollo, Cognism vs ZoomInfo, ZoomInfo vs LeadIQ and, for a workflow tool that also pulls Crunchbase data, Clay vs Apollo. The Scalelist blog has more matchups.
FAQ
Is Crunchbase a replacement for ZoomInfo?
No, not for contact data. Crunchbase is a company and funding database: it tells you which private companies raised, grew or were acquired. ZoomInfo is built to give you the people, with emails, direct dials and mobiles. Crunchbase sells contact data only as a Business add-on, from 29 USD a month for 100 contacts, so most teams pair it with a contact tool.
ZoomInfo vs Crunchbase: which is cheaper?
Crunchbase, by a wide margin at list price. Crunchbase Pro costs 49 USD a month billed annually in the first year, or 99 USD billed monthly. ZoomInfo does not publish paid prices; Vendr, a buying marketplace, reports a median contract of 33,500 USD a year. They buy different things, though: Crunchbase Pro does not include contact data.
Does Crunchbase have contact data?
Yes, as an add-on for Business customers. Crunchbase’s Knowledge Center lists 10 contacts a month, then packages of 100, 250 or 500 contacts for 29, 59 or 99 USD a month. Contact data includes names, titles, email addresses and phone numbers; mobile numbers are not specified. Those articles were last updated about a year ago, so confirm with Crunchbase before you buy.
Does ZoomInfo have funding data?
Yes. ZoomInfo’s data page lists a funding dataset covering “Venture rounds, PE investments, and debt financing events”, next to M&A, IPO and executive-move signals. ZoomInfo lists 9 fields for that dataset. Crunchbase lets you search rounds by lead investor, valuation and total funding, and adds funding predictions. If you already pay for ZoomInfo, test its funding signals before you add Crunchbase.
Crunchbase vs ZoomInfo: which is better for sales prospecting?
It depends on the step. Crunchbase is better for finding the accounts, if your trigger is funding, M&A or growth. ZoomInfo is better for reaching the people, because contact data with direct dials and mobiles is its core product. Many teams use Crunchbase for the account list and a contact tool for emails and mobiles.
How do I get emails and mobiles for companies that just raised?
Export the funded companies from Crunchbase, pick the buyer’s title at each one, then run those people through a contact tool. ZoomInfo returns them inside exported records on paid plans. Scalelist, an AI Lead Finder, returns verified work emails and mobile numbers at 1 credit per email and 20 per mobile found, with nothing charged for a miss.
Sources
- Crunchbase: Pricing
- Crunchbase: About
- Crunchbase Knowledge Center: Contact level data
- Crunchbase Knowledge Center: How do I get contact data?
- Crunchbase Knowledge Center: Funding rounds definitions
- Crunchbase blog: Contact data and engagement suite
- ZoomInfo: How much does ZoomInfo cost
- ZoomInfo help center: Overview of credits
- ZoomInfo API docs: Credit usage and limits
- ZoomInfo: Data
- ZoomInfo: Trust center
- Vendr: ZoomInfo pricing data